A Review of Meal Delivery Services

You know those ideas that are so good you wish you came up with them? Like Google, or toasted ravioli, or polarized sunglasses… all ideas I wish I had been apart of because they are brilliant. And now I have to add meal delivery services to that list.

You can subscribe to monthly packages of pretty much anything on the Internet now: lingerie, athletic wear, treats for your pet, designer wear, home cleaning supplies, and FOOD! Meal delivery services are awesome because they send you a meal kit with 3 meals for a base price and you make the meals at home. Usually the three meals cost as much as eating out one night may cost. It’s a fun way to try new recipes and get out of a cooking rut if you find yourself in one. Plus it’s cheaper than going out and you can make the cooking experience into a date night in. Total win!

We’ve been trying different meal delivery services and my BIL suggested I do reviews of them. I like that idea a lot! Every time I try a new service, I’ll add a review into this post. My goal is to try them all. Seriously. I want to try all the services that deliver to my area because I want to know who’s the best for weeks when we want something different but don’t want to spend money on takeout  (I’m thinking days like Valentine’s Day, Fathers day and Mothers day and so on).

Check back often! I plan to update as we experiment. Hopefully this helps someone.

I’ll be rating the services on:

  • Taste
  • Quality of ingredients
  • Instructions 
  • Creativity 
  • Family approval

Blue Apron

20161102_104025

By now most of us have heard of Blue Apron. The ads are everywhere and pretty effective. We started off with them because as far as I knew, they were the big shots in the meal delivery service game. And they didn’t disappoint. The taste of every meal we tried was delicious and sometimes a little unexpected. We cooked with ingredients we were familiar with but also were introduced to some new and exciting ingredients (like Chinese steam buns and black garlic). The meals were creative yet not out of this world strange. The flavor combinations worked well and the instructions were easy to follow. However, they did have some weird instructions when it came to lemons and limes. Example: using a peeler, remove the yellow rind of the lemon, avoiding the white pith; mince the rind to get 2 teaspoons of zest. Y’all- it’s called zesting a lemon. Using a zester is much easier than the steps they lay out. If you don’t have a zester than the instructions are helpful. The quality of ingredients used in the kit was great. The veggies were fresh and crisp and everything was packaged and labeled so well. Most importantly: everyone gave their approval of these meals! The meal sizes seemed small but after cooking the portioned out foods, it turned out they were the perfect amount. My favorite meal was the spicy chicken and carrots. Anytime I get to cook with dates, I’m a happy girl. Mr. Hungry Yogi enjoyed the Roasted Pork Steam Buns the most and baby Kola sampled everything and seemed to enjoy it all but she was also partial to the Roasted Pork Steam Buns (mainly the buns).

I’ll put it like this: we liked them so much we’ve used their service again already.

Overall grade: A

If you want to try this company you can get your first meal FREE! Just respond in the comments with your name and email address or shoot me an email at sawtf7@gmail.com and I’ll give you the hookup!

Home Chef

20161102_093933

I wasn’t familiar with this company but it popped up on my fb newsfeed so I figured why not!? And well… Home Chef was okay. Not great but good. I checked my menu before the order went through and changed it to fit our needs but we ended up receiving meals we originally tried to change. So that was already a little disappointing. The quality of ingredients was not as high as with Blue Apron. The lettuce for the grilled buffalo salad was not as crisp,  and the tomato was pretty basic tasting and not flavorful. One of my boxes was also missing an ingredient (blue cheese). We decided that the taste of each meal was standard, nothing exceptional. For instance, the Buffalo sauce we made was pretty bland so I had to add my own spices. The instructions were really easy to follow and it seems like Home Chef is geared towards people who do not spend very much time in the kitchen. Great for those who are just learning to cook but not so much for those who want to experiment with new techniques and flavors. For example, Blue Apron would have you make your own ranch dressing whereas Home Chef just sent a package of ranch. Great for those who want simplicity but maybe not for those who are looking to learn something. Meal sizes were filling. The most creative meal was the Spooky Turkey Cauldron and that’s only because it was cute. Family approval wasn’t anything to write home about. My family enjoyed these meals but didn’t care for them as much as Blue Apron. Mr. Hungry Yogi’s favorite was the Broccoli Cheddar Soup and if I had to choose it would be the Grilled Buffalo Chicken Salad. It was mediocre but I’m a sucker for warm protein and a refreshing salad combo. Baby Kola was all about the bread bowl of the Broccoli Cheddar Soup. Girl likes her carbs.

Overall Grade: B-

If you decide to try this company use this link! You’ll get $30 bucks off your first delivery!

https://www.homechef.com/invite/9255NH9v5vY0

Keep checking back. I plan to eat my way through all of these services until I find my favorite! 🙂

Please let me know if you’ve tried these services and what’s your favorite if you have!

-Sonni K. 

Leave a Reply

