Fitness / Food / Gluten Free / Lunch / Meal Planning Tips / Organizing the Kitchen / Paleo / Raw / Snacks / Vegan

2 years. Over 1000 smoothies and shakes and a Creamy Protein Banana Icecream recipe

Warning: this is filled with “1st world problems” πŸ˜‚

I have a lot of kitchen gadgets. A well stocked kitchen is an odd thing I pride myself in. If someone, anyone, wanted to come cook in my kitchen- I like to believe they would have any tool they needed to make a great meal, to make many great meals.

Sometimes, when I’m lost in thought, I wonder what kitchen tool I would grab if I had to pack in 10 minutes. What item would I be lost without? What item could I use daily to feed my family? What item would I pack no matter what? It’s a hard choice. And honestly I don’t know. I can give reason to pack anything and would probably need to be carried out of the kitchen after the 10 minutes was over empty handed because I couldn’t decide.

However, one item I use every.single.day is my Blendtec. I don’t even refer to it as a blender when I talk about it. 9/10 I say, ‘the Blendtec’ when talking about it because it’s a boss and needs to be referred to with its proper name. πŸ˜‚ In all seriousness, I’ve had it for 2 years and am over 1000 uses. As of today, it’s been used 1053 times. I make smoothies, shakes, hummus, dips, and banana ice cream daily. The Blendtec has never failed me and it’s one of the best purchases I’ve made.

1475513536267367053698

Our first blender was a high powered Ninja and we enjoyed it. It was a decent enough blender but it was a pain to clean. All those removable pieces were a headache (1st world problem but y’all it was real to us!) We hated cleaning it so much we didn’t use it as much as we thought we would.

And then I got wind of the Holy grail of blenders; the Vitamix. I worked at an awesome eatery for a while in grad school and we used Vitamix for smoothies. I liked the machine so much and noticed a major difference in how well it blended versus my blender at home. However, I thought it was a little silly to pay so much for a blender but have to use a tool to help push things through and it didn’t have preset options Β (like smoothie, soups, etc).

I started doing a lot of research. I was reading about blenders like it was my job. I was reading consumer reviews and watching countless youtube videos that compared the top blenders side by side. I was very focused on blenders for a couple of weeks. And I only talked about blenders to my husband who was thrilled to hear about them πŸ˜’

That’s how I found the Blendtec as well as a Vitamix that does have the preset options that Blendtec offers. I searched both sites for a refurbished model (a recommendation from one of the many reviews I read- usually a fraction of the price and works like a dream! Seriously- if you want a high powered blender but don’t want to spend the big bucks on one- GET REFURBISHED. Never pay full price for something you can get for cheaper, or at least this frugal yoga mama won’t! Blendtec and Vitamix are considered the Lexus and Mercedes of blenders and are priced as such. Ain’t nobody got time for that. Refurbished is the way to go). We decided to go with a Blendtec in the end because of their customer service. Every review I read mentioned how wonderful Blendtec is to its clients and that stuck out to me.

Decision made. I found a refurbished one once they were restocked online and bought it. I expected it to arrive within 8-10 business days and 6 or so days went by and I realized I didn’t get a tracking number. I sent an email stating so much to the email address provided on the website and received a response within a few hours apologizing profusely for the inconvenience and telling me they were sending me 2 special add on items (about $150 value at the time) at no additional cost.

Best customer service. Ever.

I have never looked back. I use my blender daily. Often more than once daily. I absolutely love it. And it may even be the item I would HAVE to take if we had obly 10 minutes to pack because I think we could survive if we have it and only it. At least for awhile. And as long as where ever we are going has electricity πŸ˜‚

So in honor of my top kitchen gadget, I want to share one of the most made items in it : my favorite banana icecream and chocolate hardshell.

It’s packed with protein, healthy fat, and great flavor.

20160921_132251

Creamy Protein Banana Icecream

Ingredients:Β 

  • 1 1/2 Frozen banana
  • Splash or 2 of cashew milk
  • 1 scoop of Vanilla Raw Organic Protein Powder (or any protein powder you like)
  • 2 tablespoons PBFit
  • 1 teaspoon carob powder

Chocolate Hardshell

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil

Directions:Β 

Blend banana icecream in a high powered blender (such as a Blendtec) on the Icecream setting until smooth. Next, use a microwave or the double boiler method for the chocolate chips and oil mixture until melted.

I like to top mine with the hardshell and hemp seeds for some healthy fats and texture. 🍌 It’s a perfect post workout treat or end of the day dessert.

Hope you enjoy!

20160922_204214

Sonni K.Β 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

