Fitness. Diet. Pregnancy Take 2.

Pregnancy is a wild journey. And for me, it’s not without lots of fatigue, nausea, and heartburn. How people put themselves through this 5 times or more is beyond me. Babies are tight and all… but my goodness. My cap is 2.

I’m 20 weeks along and baby is kicking and squirming in its home. This pregnancy is so different than my first. With my first, I was self induced bed ridden besides for when I dragged myself from the couch to teach a yoga class. I barely cooked because everything made me sick to my stomach and I barely slept because my insomnia was in high gear. But this pregnancy? Although not a walk in the park by any measure- I’m a lot happier and a lot more active. I think the two go hand in hand.

Mr. Hungry Yogi and I have been working out 6 days a week at 5 am together for the past 8 weeks and I’ve been setting my alarm back even earlier to 4am in order to get a 3 mile run or yoga practice in every morning.

snapchat-1413135426748995365

We’ve been making veggie filled juices together, making breakfast, smoothies, and spending quality time together in the mornings. Alone time. Just us and the quiet dark mornings.

20160923_061736

I’m eating real food. I’m cooking real food. I write in my gratitude journal (not as often as I should). I practice yoga. I feel healthy and vibrant. I feel so much different with this pregnancy. I feel better mentally and physically.

img_20160905_104355

I gained so much weight with baby number 1. And I gained it quickly. I was concerned about it; would I ever lose all the weight?! With this pregnancy, I don’t even look at the scale when the nurse takes my weight at the beginning of my appointments. I’ve told them I’m not interested in it. I’ll gain what I gain like with the last one but I will not stress about it. It’ll come off like it did with the first … in time. Maybe a bit more time even, but that’s not a concern I have.

Pregnancy can make a girl go a little nuts. So far, having a routine has really helped keep my sanity. Starting my day with a workout ensures that my entire day is filled with healthier choices for me and the baby.

I eat well. I exercise well. I feel well.

20160922_051356

 

I’m thankful for a more gentle pregnancy and hope this baby is as nice to its mama after delivery πŸ˜‚

I want to share what I’ve eaten over the past few weeks to stay healthy-ish and energized! I’ve been trying to keep 2 meals a day paleo and it’s been awesome. I’m thinking about doing a weekly roundup of meals and sharing a recipe a week. Maybe that help me actually blog more πŸ˜‚(which is a goal because I actually do really enjoy it!).

A typical day:

Breakfast

20160925_091357

 

Lunch

20160921_122234

Snack

20160923_094940

Dinner

20160922_114742

And few days in collage format:

img_20160822_184954img_20160825_205218

I’m not starving myself, I eat well and I try to eat real food to energize me. Baby kicks after meals so I think the food is approved!

Until next time- stay fed and moving πŸ˜‰

Sonni K.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fitness. Diet. Pregnancy Take 2.

  1. Your food choices look DELICIOUS! Good for you for being healthy during this pregnancy! I definitely wasn’t during mine and would hope to follow your path if I decide to have another one. Way to go–you’re an inspiration! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

